Radio Academy 30 Under 30 winners announced

Numerous podcast producers honoured in industry list

The Radio Academy has announced the winners of its annual 30 Under 30 list for 2023, recognising some of the industry’s most vital up-and-coming talent, sponsored by sonic branding agency ReelWorld.

The UK audio industry trade body has been compiling the annual list since 2011, which this year includes representatives from a number of public service and commercial radio broadcasters, as well as several podcast production companies and freelance producers.

“I am delighted to announce The ReelWorld Radio Academy 30 Under 30 list,” said Radio Academy managing director Aradhna Tayal Leach, “one of the most prestigious and competitive accolades in our sector. It is our annual list of hugely inspirational people who are already making waves in the industry and are becoming the leaders of tomorrow.”

“The 2023 list features the champions of radio and audio who have demonstrated passion, skill and an understanding of the medium that shows a dedication to our listeners, and to our own audio community. We hope that this mark of recognition from The Radio Academy promotes their achievements to date and empowers them to continue in their professional and personal endeavours.”

Several of PodPod’s 2023 Faces To Watch were included in the list, including Bea Duncan and Talia Augustidis of Broccoli Productions and Life After Prison co-host Jules Rowan. Also honoured were Novel production manager Cheree Houston, Laura FitzPatrick and Gabriel Radus from The News Agents’ production team, and Ella Watts, creator of Doctor Who: Redacted.

Also on the list is Beautiful Strangers founder Jack Suddaby, fresh from picking up multiple trophies at the Audio Production Awards on Wednesday night. Suddaby has had a successful year, including picking up Best Arts and Culture podcast at the British Podcast Awards with his show, Time and Again. Sounds Of Black Britain creator Tommy Dixon also made the list, following his win for Best New Podcast at this year’s ARIAs.

This year’s 30 Under 30 marked the last for outgoing chair Steve Parkinson, chief strategic partnerships and events officer at Bauer Media Audio UK. Parkinson has stepped down as chair of judges after 11 years to hand the reins to News Broadcasting director of strategy Jimmy Buckland, who was a member of the very first 30 Under 30 cohort in 2011.

“It has been an honour and a privilege to have been asked to preside as chair over such an exciting and popular initiative for the last eleven years,” Parkinson said. “My thanks and appreciation to Jimmy as he steps in to the role, and I very much look forward to reading the names of emerging talent in the years to come.”

“As a member of the first 30 Under 30 in 2011, it’s a special honour to be asked to take over as chair,” Buckland said. “I’d also like to extend a huge thank you to Steve on behalf of the industry and 30 Under 30 alumni for the energy and leadership he brought as outgoing chair.” 

“I have found it incredibly inspiring to read through the brilliant applications we received this year. The thirty young people who have made this year’s list exemplify the creativity, flair, passion and innovation that are the lifeblood of our industry. Their talent and achievements demonstrate that the future of audio is in safe hands.”

All of the winners will receive a framed certificate, as well as a ticket to next year’s Radio Academy Festival and the organisation’s ARIA awards, and free membership to the organisation for a year.