Irish Podcast Awards entry deadline extended to 27 July

New judges include key faces from Irish audio industry

The deadline for entries to this year’s Irish Podcast Awards has been extended until midnight on 27 July, the event’s organisers have announced, giving podcasters and producers more time to file their submissions

Entry fees are priced according to company turnover, ranging from €145 plus VAT for organisations under €100,000 up to €275 plus VAT for those over €250,000.

The event, now in its second year, is operated by Haymarket Media Group and powered by PodPod, and seeks to support and celebrate Irish podcasting at all levels. Last year’s show saw more than 400 entries from podcasts across a range of sizes and genres, with The Witness, Talking Bollox and The Tommy, Hector and Laurita Podcast among those who took home trophies.

Following the revised deadline, the shortlist for the awards will be released on 14 September, ahead of the announcement ceremony in November. The ceremony is set to take place in Dublin, at an unspecified location, with details to be shared closer to the event.

A number of new judges have also been added to the panel for this year’s deliberations, including Patrick Haughey, founder of Dublin-based podcast agency AudioBrand, Serena Gay, founder of branded podcast firm Made4U Podcasts, Liam Thompson, co-founder of Smart 7 production company Daft Doris, and Tara Farrell, sponsorship manager for RTE Radio, all of whom are returning as judges for the second year. They’re also joined by Colleen O'Hare, managing director of Newry’s Granite Podcast Studio, making her debut as an Irish Podcast Awards judge.