Finalists for Australian Podcast Awards 2022 revealed

Ceremony to be hosted by The Night Show’s Mitch Churi

The list of finalists for this year’s Australian Podcast Awards has been announced. 

Now in its seventh year, the awards act as a celebration of the top podcast content across Australia. The awards cover 33 categories including the Listener’s Choice Award, supported by audio entertainment platform LiSTNR, which is now open for all to publically vote on. 

The winners in each category will be eligible for the iHeart Podcast of the Year award,the winner of which will be announced at the ceremony on November 21 at the Seymour Theatre in Sydney. This year’s awards night will be hosted by Mitch Churi, award-winning host of KIIS FM TV’s music podcast The Night Show

“Australia truly does lead the pack on a global scale in terms of original, entertaining podcast content and in my opinion is the future of Australian media, so I'm so thrilled they have asked a radio personality to host the event,” said Churi. “Jokes aside, I’m thrilled to be hosting this year’s Australian Podcast Awards and help uncover and celebrate the best of the best in the Aussie podcast industry - it’s going to be a great night!”

Finalists in the running include Brittany Hockley and Laura Byrne for their podcast Hooked, Hitched & Hung Up in the sex and relationships category, and Osher Günsberg’s DadPod for best parenting podcast. Award categories are also supported by iHeart, Campaign, Subtly, Nova, and Podfollow. 

“Every year we’re amazed by the talent and creativity coming through the Australian Podcast Awards,” said Australian Podcast Awards director Matt Deegan. “This year’s list represents the best of the best, and it’s encouraging to see both industry heavyweights and fierce independents rising to the top. We can’t wait for the final awards to be announced in November.”